Dog Licensing Information
Before Licensing Your Dog
A California-approved rabies vaccination of your dog is a prerequisite for licensing, and it's highly effective as an animal and public health measure. Rabies vaccinations are especially important in areas like ours where the potential threat of exposure to rabies from wildlife is a significant concern. The primary rabies vaccination is good for one year. The second vaccination is given one year later. Subsequent (or booster) vaccinations are valid for three years.
Please note: Your veterinarian's business name and License Number or clinic name and phone number are required for verification purposes. If your pet cannot get a rabies vaccination due to a medical condition, please complete this rabies exempt form with your veterinarian.
Dog licenses for unaltered dogs are charged at a higher rate. For a list of low-cost spay or neuter services in San Diego please visit sdhumane.org/alterations.
Failure to obtain a license, or to renew the license by the expiration date will result in a late fee.
A dog's license tag must be securely fastened to the dog's collar or harness and worn by the dog at all times. Dog licensing is the best way to ensure your pet is identifiable, if found, and is also a visible means of ensuring that the animal has been vaccinated against rabies.
For Cities Outside San Diego Humane Society's Jurisdiction
If you reside in Chula Vista, Coronado, La Mesa, Lemon Grove and National City, please contact with your local jurisdiction for licensing information.
Residents of unincorporated North County and Unincorporated South County must contact the County of San Diego Department of Animal Services for licensing.
San Diego Humane Society is working with PetHub.com to help pet owners purchase a new license or renew an existing license through an online portal. PetHub processes online licenses for the cities below. Please note, online licensing takes up to 30 days. For immediate licensing needs, visit San Diego Humane Society’s campuses in El Cajon, Escondido, Oceanside or San Diego. Click here to get started.
Residents of Carlsbad, Del Mar, El Cajon, Encinitas, Escondido, Imperial Beach, Oceanside, Poway, San Diego, San Marcos, Santee, Solana Beach and Vista can purchase a dog license online at PetHub.com.
The pet tag you will receive also has additional features — like your pet’s identification in case they escape — that can be activated on PetHub.com.
Service dog licenses, Rabies exemption licenses or any other special dog licenses cannot be completed through PetHub.com. Information must be emailed to [email protected] or done in-person.
License fees are an investment in the health and safety of our pets. These small fees also assist San Diego Humane Society in providing care to stray and homeless animals and further our efforts to eliminate animal cruelty and neglect.
|Online:||License your dog online at pethub.com/SanDiego.|
License your dog in person at one of these locations:
San Diego Campus: 5480 Gaines St., San Diego, CA 92110
License your dog by mail.
ATTN: SAN DIEGO HUMANE SOCIETY
Please make checks out to San Diego Humane Society.
*Please note, licensing fees are non-refundable.
It's the law
California Health and Safety Code (121690) requires all dogs to be vaccinated against rabies and to obtain a license:
- Within 30 days after reaching the age of four months, or
- Within 30 days of acquiring the dog, or
- Within 30 days after entering the jurisdiction.
- San Diego Humane Society offers low-cost vaccination clinics. Please visit sdhumane.org/vaccine for details.
- For a list of low-cost vaccination clinics in San Diego, please visit www.sdhumane.org/resource-guide/.
- For a list of low-cost spay or neuter services in San Diego, please visit sdhumane.org/alterations.
California Health and Safety Code (121690) requires all dogs to be vaccinated against rabies and to obtain a license. Once you have obtained a valid dog license, the below information will assist in registering a service dog with San Diego Humane Society.
Requirements for San Diego Humane Society's Service Dog Registration are:
1. A current dog licence.
California Health and Safety Code (121690) requires all dogs to be vaccinated against rabies and to obtain a license. All licensing fees are waived (by law) for service dog licensing, once the dog has been established as a Service Dog through San Diego Humane Society.
2. Must be qualified as an official "service dog."
A "service dog," under California law, is a dog trained to help a specific individual with a disability with services such as fetching dropped items, minimal protection work, rescue work, or pulling a wheelchair. More information about what qualifies as a "service" animal can be found here.
3. Must live in San Diego Humane Society's Animal Service Jurisdiction.
If you meet the above qualifications, please email the following three attachments to [email protected] to begin the service dog registration process.
- A Copy of a doctor's note / prescription or...
- A copy of your handicapped placard or...
- A copy of your SSDI award letter.
Please note, service dog replacement tags are $10.
To offer pet owners peace of mind — and some benefits — as they invest in the health and safety of their pets, we provide the following incentives:
|Found pets with current licenses can be quickly reunited with their owner or rushed to an appropriate veterinarian if severely injured.|
Free Ride Home
|The first time a currently licensed pet is picked up or brought to San Diego Humane Society, the pet will receive a free ride home or free pass to go home, reducing any stay or even skipping a trip to San Diego Humane Society altogether.|
Vacation Pet Alert
|Before you leave for vacation, call 619-299-7012 to register your licensed pet for the Vacation Pet Alert service. Provide us with the contact information of who will be caring for your pet and who is allowed to act on your behalf while you're away. This will also put the Extended Stay service into effect.|
|When found, pets with current licenses will be cared for by San Diego Humane Society for up to seven days before being put up for adoption.|